Weekly Update #3

Hey Team, I have a really quick update today. So far the theme of the week or so since the last post is frustration. In the last post I talked about lighting my 2D environment and I may have jumped the gun a little bit thinking that I had found my answer. The system I am using is great but I have run into a few limitations that are stopping me from getting the results I want.  Whether or not these limitations are caused by the system itself or my skills as a developer, I am not yet sure. But I do know that I have spent way too much time trying to figure it out and it is putting me significantly behind schedule.

The problem seems to be the relationship of the position of each layer in the scene. When everything is lit up, I am able to get a good result from my ambient lighting layer, my object lighting layer and my character layer, see Fig 1 below.

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 11.30.40 AM
Fig 1. This screenshot has the computer monitor lighting nicely behind the character, and the ambient lighting creates a good gradient in the scene. The character sits nicely on top of the scene without looking detached.

The problem now is that once the player moves into a room where the lighting is off and I want to make good use of shadows, the current positioning leaves the player onto of the shadows. See Fig 2 below.

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 11.54.01 AM
Here the ambient light from room 1 seeps into the second room nicely. But the layering setup from Fig 1 results in the character sitting in front of the shadow.

Here is what the ideal result would be to the above scene.

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 11.56.21 AM
Fig 3. Here the character is nicely covered by the shadow but still slightly lit by the ambient lighting from room 1.

The problem with this layering is when the character comes back into the room and moves in front of the object lighting from the computer monitor this lighting is in front of the character and the character sprites become blown out with brightness. See Fig 4 below.

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 11.29.34 AM.png
Fig 4. Here the object lighting is in front of the character.

I know there must be a simple solution, I just need to sit down for an hour or two without letting myself be distracted and i will eventually figure it out. I do have an idea I have not tried yet, using the player as a light obstacles which could potential cause some interesting shadowing effects.

Until next time, thanks a lot for reading. I appreciate all the feedback and if you have any ideas for fixing my lighting problems please let me know.

 

Leave a Reply

